Monday, March 14, 2011

NRBQ: Sundazed Ludlow Garage 1970 Releases

Two archive releases by Sundazed Records from a previously unreleased soundboard concert recording from Ludlow Garage in Cincinnati, Ohio on January 24, 1970. Ludlow Garage 1970 was released only on CD, and Interstellar was released only on 10" vinyl.

Ludlow Garage 1970
Sundazed SC 11082
Released 2006

Previously unreleased concert from 19700124 Ludlow Garage; Cincinnati, OH

NRBQ, the combo that’s been the epitome of eclecticism over the past four decades has finally agreed to unleash its stunning live concert, Ludlow Garage 1970, on compact disc by Sundazed. Sketchy cassettes of this epic engagement have been circulating ever since it occurred, and now the real story can be told, direct from the original soundboard masters! Ludlow Garage 1970 catches the dynamic original lineup of NRBQ — lead singer Frank Gadler, keyboard man Terry Adams, guitarist Steve Ferguson, bassist Jody St. Nicholas (aka Joey Spampinato) and drummer Tom Staley—at the peak of their powers, as they shift gears wildly from their own unique originals, to the interplanetary sounds of New Thing jazz, to frantic covers of Wilson Pickett, Little Richard and others. With special focus on Ferguson’s absolutely astounding six-string technique, here’s the very best material from their legendary 1970 shows at the fabled Cincinnati nightspot, as personally selected by Adams, with the full story recounted in the liner notes by longtime band pal Chandler Travis (Incredible Casuals). It’s no damn wonder NRBQ has been described as nothing less than a band that always wove its own magical musical-tapestry.

1. Rocket # 9 / No Identification
2. Flat Foot Flewzy
3. Rip It Up
4. Sitting in the Park
5. Goofus
6. Step Aside
7. I Found a Love
8. Here Comes the Whistleman
9. You Move So Fast
10. Red Planet
11. When It’s Summertime in the Wintertime
12. Fergie’s Prayer
13. Wan-Do
14. So Dance with Me
15. Ida
16. Finger Poppin’ Time
17. Kentucky Slop Song
18. Someday Maybe

Sundazed KS10 01
Kustom Shop 10" vinyl

Destination Out! Brand new from Sundazed's Kustom Shop, it's a mindblowing ten-inch 33 1/3 RPM slab of wax by NRBQ that finds the revered fivesome latching onto the out-there New Thing jazz pioneered by intergalactic heroes Sun Ra & His Arkestra—and riding the music to universes beyond the beyond. Cut live in 1970 at Cincinnati's Ludlow Garage and Clinton Hollow in upstate New York, these revolutionary sounds, says NRBQ mainman Terry Adams "opened up new possibilities in rock 'n' roll. We had a thousand teenagers chanting along with us to 'Rocket #9." That stunning Sun Ra classic and his equally wonderful "Next Stop Mars"—extended experimental workouts that incorporate Adams' stellar originals "Venusian Sunset" and "Approach The Planet"—are guaranteed to send you clear out of this world!


Side A Recorded 19700124 Ludlow Garage; Cincinnati, OH
1. Rocket #9 (Released on Ludlow Garage 1970) Sun Ra
2. Venusian Sunset (Not released Ludlow Garage 1970) Terry Adams

Side B Recorded 19701011 Polly Farm; Clinton Hollow, NY
3. Next Stop Mars (Not released Ludlow Garage 1970) Sun Ra
4. Approach the Planet (Not released Ludlow Garage 1970) Terry Adams

No comments: